Menu Display


Facts and Figures

Facts and Figures

Diocesan Overview

(Statistics accurate for 2021, the most recent year available via the Official Catholic Directory.)

The Diocese of Joliet was established by a decree issued by Pope Pius XII on December 11, 1948. It was created from seven counties in Illinois: DuPage, Kendall, Will, Grundy, Kankakee, Iroquois and Ford. Previously, DuPage, Will, Kankakee and Grundy counties were under the Archdiocese of Chicago; Ford and Iroquois were under the jurisdiction of the Peoria diocese, and Kendall County was in the Rockford diocese.

The Joliet diocese serves around 520,000 Catholics in a geographic area of 4,218 miles. The diocese is divided into eight deaneries. This local church is pastored by Bishop Ronald A. Hicks.

Catholic Population

  • 520,148
  • Catholic population as a percentage of total population of DuPage, Kankakee, Will, Grundy, Ford, Iroquois and Kendall counties: 27 percent

Parishes and Vital Statistics

  • Number of Parishes: 117
  • Number of Missions: 7
  • Baptisms: 4,930
  • First Communions: 6,285
  • Confirmations: 6,146
  • Weddings: 965
  • Funerals: 3,618